week 6 journal 18

So of course it’s Father’s Day and my dad isn’t hanging out with me. I tried to talk to him but he never responded back. It’s like now that I’m grown up (or as he sees it I already turned 18 so he doesn’t need me anymore) he doesn’t care about me. I love my dad even though we never talk. It still doesn’t make it any easier knowing that he wants nothing to do with me. I guess there’s just some family that’ll be absent from your life. He doesn’t like any of my life choices. Any time we do talk all he does is complain about me. That I’m irresponsible because a broke a couple of cameras in middle school, that all I do is hangout with my friends, etc. He doesn’t even know me anymore. He keeps this idea that I’m the same teenage girl in highschool. He hates that I’m in college. He’s always telling me to quit, that it’s a waste of money and time. I should just get a job at McDonald’s because at least I’m making money and not spending it. He acts like an education is equivalent to buying clothes or something. All I know is that if I ever have kids, if their dad doesn’t want to be around. That I’m going to be like my mom and fill in both spots that best I can and always be supportive.

Leave a Reply

